Manatee Protection Plans

In October, 1989 the Florida Governor and Cabinet directed 13 "Key" counties to develop manatee protection plans (MPPs). This directive was eventually required by Florida Statute in 2002. To learn more about MPPs and their various components, please see the FWC August 2000 Boat Facility Siting Guide. As of 2007, all 13 counties have FWC-approved MPPs, which include: Broward, Citrus, Collier, Duval, Indian River, Lee, Martin, Miami-Dade, Palm Beach, Sarasota, St. Lucie and Volusia counties. Note: This resource has been updated for the 2013 report.

Publisher - Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC)

Subjects - Mammal, Manatee

Citation: FWC. 2013. Manatee Protection Plans. Tallahassee (FL): Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC).